John Vandel Awarded Dargavel Medal by NCPA Foundation

NCPA October 28, 2019

SAN DIEGO (Oct. 28, 2019) - John H. Vandel, RPh, former dean of the University of Wyoming School of Pharmacy, was awarded the 2019 John W. Dargavel Medal by the National Community Pharmacists Association Foundation during NCPA's recent Annual Convention in San Diego.

The McKesson Corporation sponsors the annual award that honors an individual whose contributions on behalf of independent pharmacy embody the spirit of leadership and accomplishment personified by John W. Dargavel, who was executive secretary of the National Association of Retail Druggists, now NCPA, from 1933 to 1961. In fact, the NCPA Foundation was established in 1953 to honor Dargavel.

Following a long and distinguished career as a community pharmacist, Vandel was named the interim dean at the University of Wyoming in 2003 and then dean in 2004, retiring in 2012. Vandel continues to teach at the university.

Vandel received a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy degree from the University of Wyoming in 1957. From 1966–2010, he was the president and manager of Vandel Drugs, Inc., in Torrington, Wyo. During that time, he was very involved in state and national pharmacy organizations, serving 12 years on the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education and in volunteer positions with NCPA and the American Pharmacists Association. Having served on the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Commission to Implement Change in Pharmacy Education, Vandel was active in the development of the PharmD program in pharmacy education. In addition, he served 12 years on the Wyoming Board of Pharmacy and is a past president of the Wyoming Pharmacy Association.

He is currently on the Ivinson Memorial Hospital's Cancer Committee as well as its Foundation Board, and is also involved with the Rotary International Club of Laramie.


McKesson Corporation, currently ranked 7th on the FORTUNE 500, is a global leader in healthcare supply chain management solutions, retail pharmacy, community oncology and specialty care, and healthcare information technology. McKesson partners with pharmaceutical manufacturers, providers, pharmacies, governments and other organizations in healthcare to help provide the right medicines, medical products and healthcare services to the right patients at the right time, safely and cost-effectively. United by our ICARE shared principles, our employees work every day to innovate and deliver opportunities that make our customers and partners more successful – all for the better health of patients. McKesson has been named the "Most Admired Company" in the healthcare wholesaler category by FORTUNE, a "Best Place to Work" by the Human Rights Campaign Foundation, and a top military-friendly company by Military Friendly. For more information, visit

The NCPA Foundation is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization established in 1953 to honor the previous incarnation of NCPA, the National Association of Retail Druggists (NARD) Executive Secretary John W. Dargavel. Contributions to the foundation are tax-deductible as charitable donations to the extent permitted under federal tax law. The NCPA Foundation supports the growth of independent community pharmacy through scholarships to pharmacy students, critical research/programs to improve the success of independent pharmacy and patient care, community service programs, and financial aid to community pharmacy owners for their recovery in the event of disaster or other adverse circumstances. For more information, go to

Founded in 1898, the National Community Pharmacists Association is the voice for the community pharmacist, representing 22,000 pharmacies that employ 250,000 individuals nationwide. Community pharmacies are rooted in the communities where they are located and are among America's most accessible health care providers. To learn more, visit